top of page

Xterra Lite Pezula 2014

With perfect weather conditions, it was going to be a fantastic day at Pezula, Xterra Knysna 2014. I rode the cycle route the day before and I knew that although the weather was dry, conditions on the ground were still wet and muddy after the rains earlier in the week.

I put some mudguards on my Silverback Storm to stop spatter in my face (experience from last year!!)

I started the first 3km run well, in a field of more than 250 athletes, but within 100m my foot stuck in a mud patch leaving my new Newton shoe in the ground, I had to go back to fetch it! But I soon caught up to the lead group and passed them feeling strong and ending off with a minute lead going into the 12km cycle.

After a quick transition I was off onto the bike course, and feeling strong in the wet, muddy conditions. I have been focusing on my bike leg for a while and I could feel that the hard work is paying off. The Storm handled the loose, muddy terrain perfectly and I was once again impressed by how efficient it's power transfer is.

Coming off the bike I had a 2 minute lead and I took it easy on the second 3km run, coming in with a 4 minute lead and setting a new course record.

This was a great win for me and I am feeling confident that all my equipment and training is on track ahead of world champs in 4 weeks time.

Thank you Silverback, Newton and Xterra Wetsuits!

Start 3.jpg


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page